--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I know this question has been asked a lot, but we're complete noobs. We're a band with a little budget hailing from ghetto houston, texas. We want to record our music and we're looking for the cheapest thing avaliable with decent quality. We're looking for something that is able to record drums (atleast six mics at a time per track) that connects straight into the computer. So in other words, we want to record drums straight into the *beep this is where your suggestion comes in* and then into the computer. and yeah, our budget is really, in all honesty, less than five hundred dollars if possible. I would go to guitar center and ask but they might sell me the whole store. but yeah, thanks!!

I have heard suggestions, would just an 8 channel interface work? or a 8 channnel mixer work? im confused. well, we'll have open ears, let us know!

dyslxiccrown -our link name for myspace.
^our band

If it all possible, we will like to meet the song quality (as shown on the myspace) as a standard.

thank you!
http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Delta1010LT-main.html

includes 2 mic preamps plus 6 more analog line ins.

This mixer will give you the other four XLR inputs with preamps. Use the insert points from the mixer to go into your sound card. This is a steal of a deal for a mixer of that quality. Soundcraft is one of the best-respected brands out there at the consumer level.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Compact10/

Total = $500.

Now, you DO have mics and cables and stands, right?

@burn the stars - that is true to a point. If you have the right mics and know where to put them (and more to the point how and how NOT to place them), and you know how to mix, there is a reason that most rock albums use at least 8 tracks on the drums.