Lately i've been really wanting to get into fingerstyle. I was just wondering what would be good for me to start practicing. I've been playing for almost 5 years now, so i'm not completely new to guitar, just finger picking/fingerstyle stuff.
I am trying to figure this out by ear but i figured i should start off with something a little easier to build finger independence.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIbKUOmq5BQ

So i'm sorry if this seems scattered but some advice would be very much appreciated.
learn to read music so that you can play classical peices without having to go through the trouble of finding tabs
Definitely learn some easier pieces first, haha. try learning something easy first like Blackbird by the beatles.
Equipment:
- Art & Lutherie Cedar CW (SOLD! )
- Martin D-16RGT w/ LR Baggs M1 Active Soundhole Pickup
- Seagull 25th Anniversary Flame Maple w/ LR Baggs Micro EQ

Have an acoustic guitar? Don't let your guitar dry out! Click here.
I can read music already.

And captivate i figured i would have to start easier haha. I really just want to get into like Andy Mckee's Rylynn and of course the thing i posted. I'll start on blackbird.

Are there any more like exercises that i should work on too?

Thanks for all the help so quickly.

Edit: Also could someone tell me what that guy has on his fingers in the video i posted? I'm assuming some sort of finger pick?
Last edited by euphorictacos at Jul 30, 2008,
He could have pretty long fingernails, lots of fingerpickers grow them out and file them.
All your base are belong to us.