Hope some of you guys could offer some assistance...I've recently decided on taking up electric guitar again. I've been playing acoustic for about 20 years (starting when I was 9). In high school I went through a 3 year phase of playing mostly electric (an Ibanez RG-570 I think), which I eventually lost interest in.

Anyway, fast forward today and I want a Strat. I am torn between a 2008 American Standard and the American Deluxe. I am leaning more towards the standard at the moment. I'd like to spend no more than $1400...less is more.

My dilemma is as follows: I do not want s-1 switching on the deluxe, but I like every other "upgrade" that I see on it. Does anyone know if there is a version of the strat with deluxe features, but no s-1 switching? I could even do without the noiseless pickups if needed.

(And since it will probably be asked, I am getting a vintage 1972 (or so) Fender Twin Re verb from my Dad....I hear these are nice amps, right?)
Id look for an older american deluxe, from 2005 and before. Sometime in that era they changed to the s-1 switching. If you can find one of the older deluxe's youd be set.
Gear:

American Strat
Epiphone Valve JR head - Volume Mod'ed
Custom 1x12 with Private Jack speaker
Boss BF-3 Flanger
Boss DS-2 Distortion
Boss MT-2 MetalZone
Ebow

Gretsch Acoustic
just get the deluxe, i rarely use the s-1 on it. its basicallyh like the 5 way selector in button form

07 Fender American Deluxe Strat
07 Fender Custom Telecaster
09 Seymour Duncan Pickup Booster
09 Fulltone OCD V.4
10 Ibanez WH-10 V.2
09 Splawn SuperStock
10 Jet City JCA-20
97 Fender Hot Rod Deluxe

Yeh the SICK! bit sounds a bit stupid.

have you tried any G&Ls? some of them might have features similar to the american deluxe.

other than that, either find an older one, or else just get the deluxe and ignore the s1?