Hey everybody. I've an embarassing admission to make: I've been playing guitar for seven years, and only within the past month have i really made a point to learn any music theory. That's not to say I hadn't picked some up along the way, and by no means to say that i've avoided it. I guess, up until now, I really just saw it as unnecessary, But now that i'm getting somewhat good (at least, I feel) I'm starting to see the importance of knowing theory.

Anyway, I've learned several different fingerings for major, minor, harmonic minor and melodic minor. The standard stuff. I can't help but find myself wondering; how many people nowadays write within the major scale. I know that the major scale is pretty much the base of knowledge when it comes to music theory, but I can't help but wonder about it's practical use. It seems like by now, every combination of notes within the major scale would have been recycled again and again by artists all over the world. I mean can you really improvise within the major scale anymore? Is there much point? I guess the reason I ask is because I'd like to know if i'm just wasting my time in attempting to alt. pick major scale runs at 200+ bpms.

Regardless of the answer to this question, I would like to ask if anyone out there can give me some advice on how to begin getting more fluent with knowing/identifying scales. I've checked out some of the lessons on this site and many of them seem sketchy on the details. A lot of "i don't need to explain why, just take my word for it" kind of thing.

Always appreciate the help I get from you guys, thanks!
Well, I think you should just learn the pentatonic scales in every position and your about done for the theory you need.
GENERATION 10: The first time you see this, copy it into your sig on any forum and add 1 to the generation. Social experiment.
I like the major scale