I have been playing for 7 or 8 months with my starter pack and its time to move on. Im looking for a new guitar and amp. Ill spend anything below $1000 on the guitar and less than $400 on the amp. Musically i like to play 80s music. Guns and roses, acdc, def leppard, scorpions, van halen, and such. Im still leanrign and my knowledge is very limited.
I just picked up 1 of these used the other day. Pretty nice for the money.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Dean-Hardtail-Select-Electric-Guitar?sku=519946

Might want to take a look at 1 of these

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Line-6-POD-XT-Live-Guitar-Multi-Effects-Pedal?sku=150394

Then a clean tube amp or 1 with an fx loop
Dean Icon PZ
Line 6 Variax 700
Dean V-Wing
Dean ML 79 SilverBurst
MXR M 108
H2O Chorus/Echo
Valve Junior (V3 Head/Cab and Combo)
VHT Special 6
Phonic 620 Power Pod PA
Wampler Super Plextortion
Line 6 Pod HD
Quote by SaltyFishBreath
I have been playing for 7 or 8 months with my starter pack and its time to move on. Im looking for a new guitar and amp. Ill spend anything below $1000 on the guitar and less than $400 on the amp. Musically i like to play 80s music. Guns and roses, acdc, def leppard, scorpions, van halen, and such. Im still leanrign and my knowledge is very limited.

Use about $700 on the guitar and the REST on the amp. Look into some schecters, they come with decent stock pickups.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.