ive been playing for like 2 months and i took lessons the first month..
but the teacher was just taking my 15 dollars to teach me chords that i can do on my own.. so i quit them
and im on my own..
i can play stuff like smells like teen spirit and blink 182 songs
its really starting to bore me
and im just trying to get a little farther..
i need some suggestions on things that will help me progress
im open to anything
i'm in the same boat as you, in a way at least

ive been playing for 2 months but im not bored in the slightest just cause i work on barre chords, minor pentatonic shapes, memorizing the fret board (not as hard as it sounds) and then just practicing songs that i like and can play well while messing around with all the settings/effects i can get with my gear (i swear you can spend soo much time doing that)

anyway, if your bored go out and look in the lessons/columns sections of this site and look for thing you can practice and check out "the crusade" in the columns if you wanna try theory out.

justinguitar.com is another great place to learn new things aswell

have fun ^^
"Rome wasn't built in a week"

"Yeah but when they built rome, they didnt go "hey look, there's a functional building" AND ****ING KICK IT OVER AND PISS ON THE ASHES BECAUSE THE PEASANTS WERE CRYING THAT IT WAS TOO GLORIOUS AND AWESOME."
He couldn't have taught you harder stuff, you need to start at the basics.

I presume you've learnt all the open chords, barre chords, power chords, and any other chords by now?

What type of music are you into? Find a band you like and learn their easier songs, but make sure to challenge yourself (reasonably).

Try and learn a new technique everyday (Legato, alt picking, tremolo picking, etc.)

Just keep yourself busy, and make sure you're always improving. Look into theory too.
i listen to just about everything.
im not to good at bar chords at all but ill work on them
i guess im giving up on things to easy..