Just picked up a used Peavey 5150 head, the dude had pulled the 2 outside tubes, and I am just curious what that exactly does.
I read somewhere that it means its only running on 60 watts and whatnot, but I'm new to tubes so I don't really know what the deal is here.
Basically, I would just like to know if this will effect the sound, and what else it does.

Also, any tips on making this bad boy sound any better?

Thanks!
Quote by Bubban
Can I just hide behind a tree and masturbate?
Is it a bad thing? Because from what I've read alot of people do it.
Quote by Bubban
Naaa its fine alot of people do it and its even in most manuals stated that is ok to do and how to do it. Some like it because you can crank the amp up a bit louder and get power tube saturation and others like the pure 120 watts so they leave all the tubes in.. Its a prefrence thing. I have heard it can mess with the dynamics of the amp but I havent witnessed it.
Sweet, thanks a lot man! Any good tips on making this the best it can be?
Quote by Bubban
It halfs the output to 60 watts, but beware this also affects the ohm output of the output transformer. Its usually half of what it was previous.
Quote by gagemc.
Sweet, thanks a lot man! Any good tips on making this the best it can be?

Eq pedal, OD pedal, Chorus pedal, Delay pedal and good cab and you should be set man...

Even without that she is still a beast....
Quote by JaGi
It halfs the output to 60 watts, but beware this also affects the ohm output of the output transformer. Its usually half of what it was previous.

what do i do about that
Quote by Bubban
Quote by gagemc.
what do i do about that

Set impedence on back of head to 8 ohm, hook up to 4 ohm on cab, or 16 and 8.

also get a ME-50 for effects
thanks for all the help!
Quote by Bubban
Quote by kayman121

also get a ME-50 for effects

Why? It's only gonna suck tone and the effects aren't that great.
RIP Jasmine You.

Lieutenant of the 7-string/ERG Legion

Quote by FaygoBro420