As a bassist I know certain songs just fit better with root notes, but then there are those that have room for a little fill(I'm not sure if thats the correct word or not). How could I add in fills and what not to where I would be playing solely roots before?
one way of doing things delirium touched on is making a run using the scale, like roger from less than jake does a lot. another way of doing things is making a pattern out of the notes in the chord, more like a blues pattern.
Quote by bass7player21
one way of doing things delirium touched on is making a run using the scale, like roger from less than jake does a lot. another way of doing things is making a pattern out of the notes in the chord, more like a blues pattern.

The reason I didn't elaborate is to try and encourage the TS to be creative and work out fills on his ownsome as opposed to just going with the rather cliched run style fills
Thanks for tryin to push my creativity(or lack there of ). The way I've been trying to create fills is by messing with a certain series of 8th notes for a while. I was just wondering if there was any like technique I should know of/ look in to, in order to improve on that skill.
Learn the modes and their musical function, and the rest should come naturally! There will be a point where you hear the fill you want in your head and can immediately know where to put your fingers! All you need to do is take a little effort in learning some of the theory behind how fills work technically.

Listen for space in the song, where no other instrument or voice is filling in space. When you hear a chance, an opening, play a little fill to connect and bridge chords together. One of your jobs as a bassist is to move the song along, and keep every chord "moving". A successful fill will introduce the next idea in the song, and keep it lively and entertaining for both you and your audience!

Dictator For Life of the fIREHOSE fANCLUB. PM Me, Tedrick, or Yertle to join.