Page 1 of 2
OK, I've been playing for 10 years and I've NEVER broken a string!

I was wondering why certain players go through so many strings?

Is it something to do with playing style? Changing tuning frequently? Not replacing strings often enough? Something else?
You've never broken a string in Ten Years?!?!?!?! You must have like... SUPER STRINGS. I'd broken my first strings in the first year.
having a locking trem system increases the risk if you pull the bar up too extremely. Break them while stretching them maybe, im not sure really I never break them either.
Gibson SG Standard
Ibanez S2170FB
Peavey JSX
Marshall 1960A
TEXAS A&M
Thats impossible man, I break strings every month or two. You change them every week or what??
TEAR IT DOWN - new EP out now!
Czech death/deathcore/metalcore band
Visit our profile, listen to the new stuff and download for free, if you like it! - songs here!

Visit my youtube profile for some awesome solos - Kiwara's YT
Professionals often change strings every day, if not every couple days to ensure keeping a good sound.

Broken strings can be caused by tuning it too tight, that's for sure. I'm a bassist, and usually take it real easy on my strings so I can't offer much more than that. Sorry.
Well I have to admit I broke one on my acoustic, but that was only cos I hadn't replaced the strings in more than 2 years and it starting fraying at the tuners

I tend to replace my strings every 2-3 months now, but never used to change them more than once a year.
Quote by OrangePossum
Professionals often change strings every day, if not every couple days to ensure keeping a good sound.

No wander so many don't use locking trems....
From a lot of bending coupled with not changing strings often enough.
Quote by Guitar Sushi
No wander so many don't use locking trems....

Tons do! But you see, they don't change them; they get someother person to do that for them.