Hey guys. I've just started to take up guitar, and I'm starting to learn the basics from lessons I get once a week. I'm getting a Schecter Hellraiser Avenger (lefty) within the next 2-4 weeks. I have a few questions based on what I want to do when I get my guitar.

1) I'm interested in being a rhythm guitarist in a band. Granted, I won't want to be in a band right now since I'm new. But, while I'm learning the basics, is there any important techniques I should learn that are important for being a rhythm guitarist?

2) Is a metronome important? None of my friends that are guitarists use them. My brother doesn't use a metronome, and he has been playing for about 1 year now.

3) Is there any playing style that a lefty should do differently from a righty?

4) I wanted to originally be self taught, but I am somewhat forced to take lessons for now. How long do you think an average guitarist needs to take lessons for? I get 1 lesson per week, for about 1-3 hours (times vary).

5) I'm into Slipknot, Avenged Sevenfold, and Bullet for My Valentine. Are there any fairly easy songs I could pick up within the next month or two?

Thanks for the help, everyone.
2) Yes, metronomes are one of the most important items you will need. Your going to (or atleast you should) use it for nearly everything you do when practicing guitar.

3) People have instructors for years on end. I'd say as long as you can afford it, take lessons. If you have a good instructor you will become twice as good as you would on your own. (and I wish my lessons were 1-3 hours per week... mine are 30 minutes at $20 a lesson)
1) work on open/barre chords and strumming patterns , also of course power chords and as it seems you would like to be in a more metal influenced type of band work on down picking speed/stamina to help with what youd usually be playing (also palm muting)