I am making a little tune in blues in the key of e( E G A Bb B D E).

Im doin the g seventh chord now(G Major=G A B C D E F# G) and i get G -B -D-F#

Can i do a seventh chord that just has a "double flattened" 7th?

Or could i augment it to go up one step to a G?

Do i even make any sense?(go light on me im new to this)
^ well yes technically you can do anything, theory is a tool used for describing how and why things sound good. in the end if it sounds good then use it.

now more specifically depending on where you're going to, from this G chord might be able to help determine what kind of 7 you want to use.
Quote by z4twenny
^ well yes technically you can do anything, theory is a tool used for describing how and why things sound good. in the end if it sounds good then use it.

now more specifically depending on where you're going to, from this G chord might be able to help determine what kind of 7 you want to use.

ya i am really trying to get what you say but its not clear...

i am asking what kind of seventh chord has only a bb7 and nothing else changed.

it not a diminished because ithas a b3 and a b5.
Quote by z4twenny

alright now imgetting what you are saying, it doesnt have to be an exact chord as long as the notes in the chord are in the origignal key.
bb7 is enharmonic to 6, so you would have 1 3 5 6 which is a 6 chord (eg G6 would be G B D E). Notice that this is also an inversion of Em7 (E G B D)
My name is Andy
Quote by MudMartin
Only looking at music as math and theory, is like only looking at the love of your life as flesh and bone.

Swinging to the rhythm of the New World Order,
Counting bodies like sheep to the rhythm of the war drums
Quote by Ænimus Prime
bb7 is enharmonic to 6, so you would have 1 3 5 6 which is a 6 chord (eg G6 would be G B D E). Notice that this is also an inversion of Em7 (E G B D)