So, I'm primarily a bassist, but I'd also like to get into guitar. I'm currently saving up for a MarkBass TA501 300W Bass Head, but after that I was considering picking up a guitar, and a distortion pedal. Would it be okay for the amp to do that? I think it'd be fine, but I just wanted to be sure.

Also, if I were to do this, what type of distortion pedal does UG think would be a good one to use? I like a lot of different styles of music, so a MetalZone would probably be a bit too much gain for the more vintage tone that I'd want to use at times.
yah, it'd be ok. Stoner/sludge metal bands do that [ex. High on Fire]
I've always wanted to try that, but I play stuff other than stoner rock so it probably isn't a great idea.
I was mostly worried that I'd lose any sense of high notes at all, but this video kinda disproved that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AiS6lo50B9Y

It sounds a bit flat, but I suppose that's partially because he's using a low end system with a digital effectboard. Not to mention, solid-state and whatnot.

Think guitar center would let me plug a guitar into a bass amp? that'd be an easy way to see how it'd sound.
I think Tony Iommi used to do that too.
Metal Forum Popular Vote Winner!!!

Quote by webbtje
Quote by dead-fish
And you're obviously here because you fancy Phill.
Phill is a very attractive guy...

"I'm so tempted to sig that, Phill" - Sig it then

Unless otherwise stated, assume everything I say is in my opinion.
Quote by Banfrau
I was mostly worried that I'd lose any sense of high notes at all, but this video kinda disproved that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AiS6lo50B9Y

It sounds a bit flat, but I suppose that's partially because he's using a low end system with a digital effectboard. Not to mention, solid-state and whatnot.

Think guitar center would let me plug a guitar into a bass amp? that'd be an easy way to see how it'd sound.

I think so. They just need sales to get a bonus and whatnot, so yeah, I think they would.