i'm a relatively new bassist, and i haven't really developed an ear for tone and that kind of stuff, so i've been experimenting with every knob i can play with on my bass and amp. my bass has two volume knobs for the pickups, and one tone knob. i've figured out so far that my neck pickup will give a bassy sound, and my bridge pickup will give a punchy sound. as for my tone knob...i can't really tell what it does.

as for my amp, it has a 3 band eq. i can differentiate some of the sounds, but i'm still unsure of what combination of lows, mids and highs i should use.

so, can anyone advise me on what these various settings do, and how they will affect my tone? also, i would appreciate if anyone could tell me how to obtain certain tones, like those for playing metal, jazz, etc.

thanks in advance.

edit: btw, i play a gibson thunderbird studio on an orange crush 20b amp.
Last edited by chernk at Aug 2, 2008,
what bass and amp do you have?
Originally Posted by smb
I'm an arrogant bastard - I thought I was good before I'd plucked a note. I was right, of course.

Quote by MetalBass 77
sonsie knows all
yeah i looked through that, but it seems to be mostly tbird bashing. i'd rather get info on a more general level, though, not limited to just the tbird's tone.
all right, that more or less clears up my lack of knowledge on amp eq, thanks. what about settings on the bass itself, with the volume and tone knobs?
just muck around see what you like best

someone might say they love these setting but you might say they suck

its all a matter of opinion
Originally Posted by smb
I'm an arrogant bastard - I thought I was good before I'd plucked a note. I was right, of course.

Quote by MetalBass 77
sonsie knows all
You paid for a Gibson Thunderbird, and don't know how to eq?

But yeah, just fiddle with the settings, untill you find the sound you like.
The tone knob changes between lows and highs (or on the T-bird Mids and mids)
Quote by telecastrmastr