Hi,

i purchased a roland cube 30x a few days ago to upgrade my fender frontman 15g.

I decided to stick with a solid state amp seeing as i am a beginner and dont really want to deal with a tube amp and such at the moment, and ive heared much praise about cube here.

I have an Ibanez Rg2ex2, it is basswood with passive emg's and although the cleans sound pretty decent, whenever i put on any distortion the tone just becomes muddy.

I was wondering if upgrading the pickups would do anything to improve the tone and remove the muddyness, or was not going tube a terrible mistake?

Any help would be much appreciated =]
change your EQ perhaps? dump some of the mids for more clarity. I think mildly scooping them sounds really great. EQ something like this and see if it helps:
treb-10
mid-7
bass-9

edit:
the amp is great, tube would not have changed any muddiness. Pickups however, may affect it, but I would be hesitant to just up and change them.
Gibson SG Standard
Ibanez S2170FB
Peavey JSX
Marshall 1960A
TEXAS A&M
alright, thanks for the help. I guess i just need to fool around with the EQ some more.

but just for clarification would a pickup change have any effect on the tone at all?
Last edited by Patryk1193 at Aug 2, 2008,
of course it would, but the consensus around UG is that the amp has MUCH more to do with tone . On a personal note though, if a pickup is just completely terrible, it has to be replaced, I had to deal with a terrible pickup that came in the bridge of my Ibanez, after I replaced it, I am very happy with the tone I get.
Gibson SG Standard
Ibanez S2170FB
Peavey JSX
Marshall 1960A
TEXAS A&M
treble at full? bass at 9? i've never had an amp that something like that would work with. but thats me.