I've finally face the fact that my amp now is shocking and no matter how many pedals I use, it won't cover up for good tone. I've been playing for just over two years and im finally getting an ear for good tone. Right now I have a dreaded MG30DFX, which to be honest isn't too bad if im not in the mood for gain, which I use a pedal either OD-1 or my zoom G2. So I play Classic Rock, Progressive Rock, Jazz, Blues and Heavy Metal. I have a Fender MIM hss and an Epiphone Les Paul 100 (which I want to replace with a Custom, or atleast Standard)

At this stage im really looking for a versatile amp that can give me good cleans, to crunch to an heavy - grunty gain. As much as i'd love a Mesa Recifier, I doubt i'll be able to handle the sound of my current amp untill i'd be able to afford a whopping 5 grand (Australian) for a head and cab. Unless I get a Single, but still its really pushing my limit.

I think I should stay clear of solid states because I want a nice amp that I can keep for a while, knowing this i'll have to save up and buy a fair priced amp am I right?

My approx budget is probably up to 1800 - 3000 AUS but i'll probably get some extra if need be. Yes I know thats a big price difference, but with the left over money I would get a Hellraiser or something.

But other than that i've never thought of seriously considering higher-end amps before so im not sure what to consider. Help?
You might want to look at an Orange. Maybe AD30TC or Rocker 30. Apparently very good cleans, like an AC30 but a bit darker. Perfect for jazz and blues. The drive channel is also great, or at least so I've heard. Should be able to handle everything from light crunch to high gain.
Quote by johlin
You might want to look at an Orange. Maybe AD30TC or Rocker 30. Apparently very good cleans, like an AC30 but a bit darker. Perfect for jazz and blues. The drive channel is also great, or at least so I've heard. Should be able to handle everything from light crunch to high gain.