I have recently purchased an Ibanez ART300. (brown caimen)

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.ibanez.com/images/insets/ART300BNC_IBZactivePickups_1.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.ibanez.com/EG/guitar.aspx%3Fm%3DART300&h=507&w=760&sz=88&hl=en&start=15&tbnid=fiylm2dEpJcZZM:&tbnh=95&tbnw=142&prev=/images%3Fq%3DIbanez%2BART300%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DG

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone else has an Ibanez with these pickups? I play through a Vox amp and I am wondering if it is my amp that is so "bassy"... or the pickups?
I literally have to turn the bass on my amp completely down to keep it at a balanced tone. Damn thing sounds more like a bass guitar sometimes.

If this could be stemming from my pickups, how hard would it be for me to replace them with EMG's? Or would that not fix it?

I am still fairly new to playing guitar so I may sound stupid asking this.
"My friends, we live in the greatest nation in the history of the world.
I hope you'll join with me as we try to change it." -- Barack Obama

''Life's tough...it's even tougher if you're stupid.'' -- John Wayne
try to get a new amp. if it's still bassy, get new pickups.
Ibanez RG321MH (Air Classic/Tone Zone)
Fernandes Telecaster (Twang King/stock bridge pickup)
Blackstar HT-20 (Scumback 55 speaker/ Tung Sol tubes)
TC Electronic Nova Repeater
Lava Cables Clear Connect, Soar and Mini ELC
ive found the same problem with epi les pauls. i say that while a better amp will definitely get you better tone, this problem can likely be fixed by brighter pickups. i hear evos are good for brightening up a les paul.

ive owned two vox amps and both were on the bright side of neutral to my ears. i dont know what model your amp is but chances are it isnt the amp. try turning down the bass knob.
Last edited by no_thing101 at Aug 3, 2008,