I'm talking about the 15th fret (G) on the high E string. When I bend it up to A, the note goes absolutely dead. It doesn't buzz, it just stops ringing completely. I've had the guitar set up a dozen times, but the problem's never gone away.

Also, big time n00b question, but is it normal for strings to buzz as they get older? How can I fix this problem myself? I've been playing guitar for 5 years now, and I'm tired of my guitar always sounding like crap. Every time I get it set up, it reverts back to the same problem (mainly very poor buzzing on the lower frets. I can't even fret simple D or G chords because of how badly the strings buzz).
Maybe U2 wouldn't suck so hard if they stopped preaching and started rocking instead. Of course, that's difficult to do with Pantera holding a near monopoly on all things that rock.
-Maddox.
I was also looking to remedy this situation myself. I play a Carvin DC727 with a fixed bridge (the kind you'd see on a fixed bridge Strat). I'm familiar enough with the guitar that I think I could adjust the action myself.
Maybe U2 wouldn't suck so hard if they stopped preaching and started rocking instead. Of course, that's difficult to do with Pantera holding a near monopoly on all things that rock.
-Maddox.
Why are you bending the high E? Lol. String Buzz could be affected by the age of your strings but I doubt it will that much. How old is the guitar btw? It may not be crafted very well.
RULE BRITANNIA
yeah, you can raise your action yourself (as well as most other setup stuff, with a good tuner you can set the intonation without and trouble too)...

the thing is generally people aspire to have a low action as possible which is where the second option would come into play

its appears you have uneven fret wear somewhere so one fret is sticking out more than the others and choking that string
Why are you bending the high E? Lol.

Huh?