Hey, I've gotten used to basic open chords and I'm starting with Barre chords now. I learned the basic shapes from justinguitar.com and am currently practicing moving it around the fretboard. I have the notes on strings E and A memorized so I know the root notes and I know how to use octaves to learn the other strings.

I have been playing for 4 months but I really want to learn a song all the way through and have some fun instead of just practice practice practice all the time.

Anyways, how should I go about the barre chords? Should I practice switching between them with open chords or what? For example I find doing the E major barre shape on the 3rd fret G note easier than to do the open G chord and it sounds the same.
Is there a certain way of practicing them? I want to do it right.

Could somebody suggest easy songs that are more suited for rock/metal music too?

I've pretty much been following what steven seagull posted in my first topic a few months back when I first started :p
Open chords are more used for arpeggios. Barre chords suit for riffs and such. Many punk bands use those. You could try some Green Day or something. I'd also recommend the learn the name of the frets on the E string. So it's easy for you to find out where the move the shape to to get the desired chord
best way to practice is to make sure your notes are coming out clean. Its very easy to bend your index finger and mute some of the notes. try to use the side (boney) edge of the index finger for the barre, its has more strength. Learn the different variations of the barre chord. E.g major, minor, 7th, 9ths etc. theres not that much to them............if u know the root notes and variations then your pretty much set.
Yes. I strum pick out the notes to make sure they aren't muted and then strum again.
You should try to get as comfortable with one as you are with the other, they both have their uses and some things are more suited to certain situations than others.