Page 1 of 2
Alright, I just recently got a Peavey valveking 112 50x tube amp, and I am totally at a loos on how to improve the tone. It sounds like the spider of tube amps! My question is, I'm totally new to tube amps, and I was wondering how I can improve the tone. I am getting about $100 soon from birthday/work, so I can do one of two things

1: Swap the Speaker for a Celestion seventy 80.

2: Swap the tubes for something more metal.

If it helps, I like to play thrash metal (like old megadeth and metallica), and my current settings for the dirty channel are:

Gain: 8.5
Bass: 8
Mids: 4
Treble: 8.5

The resonance is loose and the texture knob is at full class A/B.
Oh, I am also playing at a very low volume from about 1-3. Is this lack of power resulting in my poor tone?
get a tubescreamer it helps alot
GEAR
Jackson JS30WR with EMG 81/85
Dean Vendetta
Peavey Valveking 212 (tung sol 12ax7 - JJ6l6gc)
Ibanez TS9
Boss TU-2
Boss NS-2

Quote by insanitytheband
Hey Im Looking For Some Tech Death Metal In D

Quote by alexyeung
try anything form avenged sevenfold

wtf?
Aside from the aforementioned tube screamer, you're gonna get better tone with higher volume.
round out ur mids an treble more, i'd up the mids a couple more points and take down the treble one point. also, lowering the gain a point or so and throwing an OD pedal in front of that should help out a lot too.

so if you don't have an OD pedal, spend either $50 on a bad monkey or $100 on a nice used fulltone OCD or check out the zillions of other TS clones.

new tubes and speaker will help too....but come on....you bought an amp just to change everything minus the circuitry? w/ all the money you'll spend, you coulda bought something more satisfying
My MAIN Gear
*Dunlop CFH
*fellow LEO feel free to give a shout out