I hope some one can clear up some of my confusion.Im self taught might not have been the best teacher,but I was affordable. anyways I dont understand how musicians can say this song is in A or G or D for that matter and everybody knows the song. so I hope someone can include me in the mix.
thats the key of the song
what letter they say they play using scales starting from that Root note
basically any song can be done in any key
its not really much but u should start learning some stuff about scales and intervals this would help out alot
Reffering to the notes, which are played you can say in whcih key a song is.
C, D, E, F, G, A, H --> in the key of C Major.

But I don't understand what you mean with : "Everybody knows the song..."
Quote by Sphinx1992
Reffering to the notes, which are played you can say in whcih key a song is.
C, D, E, F, G, A, H --> in the key of C Major.

But I don't understand what you mean with : "Everybody knows the song..."

he means that every 1 can play it
1. You're surfing the internet.
2. You're browsing through the UG forums.
3. You're reading now.
5. You didn't notice that there was no #4.
6. You just checked it.
7. Now you're having a lil smile.

Quote by hawk_kst
You Sir, have the best signature like ever!
yeah I knew that was the key of the song .What I dont know is what chords would go in what key and Iam lacking in my scale studies.