I live in basically the worst area of the country if you want to be a musician. When I finally meet what I think are like-minded people it all goes to hell pretty quickly. If I meet a "guitarist" we'll get together to jam under the guise that he'll be a guitarist.

Not only do they not tell the entire truth when we correspond before actually playing together, but after we meet and he has shown me his skills are less than what he professed I'll get the "well I'm really a drummer (or bassist, or singer...)

It really sucks. I've burned through every available musician in the area (all 5 of them). No one is as driven as me around here, and it's a huge downer.

I'm not ****ing Satch, but if I meet musicians who want to play with me I don't give them any bs. It is what it is. I'm not a drummer that tries to be a guitarist, I'm a guitarist.

Does anyone else find this quality in other musicians?
...because the last thing the world needs is another metal guitarist.

Me.

My band.

I like Fall Out Boy. I don't like you.
What do you mean being a drummer that "tries to be a guitarist"?

Surely you can learn how to play both. And if you can, you are neither a drummer trying to be a guitarist, or a guitarist trying to be a drummer. You are a drummer AND a guitarist.

In response to your question, no.
May the Force be with You.
Carmel is hawt
Hmm people who can play a few powerchords often call themselves a 'guitarist'. Annoys me too sometimes, but luckily I have some friends who can actually play instruments!
No. Why would I tell someone I play the cello when I play guitar?

You just happen to meet a lot of arseholes.
Or maybe, they're really stupid and think their drumkit is called a guitar.
Quote by Renka
OddOneOut is an Essex S&M mistress and not a pirate or a computer program.

My drummer and bassist are better at guitar than me. Not theory wise, but skill and speed. (They can play songs I can't.)

They still have me play guitar and sing.
Quote by Crazymike100