first... i suck at guitar. i listen to death, black, and grind metal. i'm a drummer looking to trade positions. my current set-up is a peavey 6505 combo, danelectro fab tone pedal, and a jackson kevin bond.

i can't get the tone right on my 6505. need some help on EQ settings. also, to get killer, raunchy, drop-tune crunch.... what pedal do y'all recommend... if i need one.
The Peavey 6505 should be able to get real nice metal tones without a pedal, I'm not a user of one myself, so I can't offer settings, but with valve amps, metallers mainly use Overdrive pedals to tighter up the low end and add a very small amount of gain. Tweak your settings (or seek advice from a fellow 6505 user) before you even consider pedals etc.

Also, this should probably be in the gear & accessories thread, as it's more about the amp than your guitar.
Gear:
Ibanez S470 (EMG 81/S/85)
Sigma DMC-15E
Laney VH100R
Laney 4x12 Cab
Ibanez Weeping Demon
M-Audio ProKeys 88
Mbox 3 Pro
KRK RP6 G2's
Plum Team FTW!

X
I like something like:
Bass: 7
Mid: 6
Treble 7
I'd recommend the 6505 with an Ibanez TS9 or TS808 tubescreamer, or A Digitech Bad Monkey.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
Use the amp's distortion and scoop the mids. You can boost the distortion with a tubescreamer if you want.
Digitech DeathMetal or Boss Metal Zone will come highly recommended...Ill take my DeathMetal anyday though, but thats just me. I personally hate denelectro pedals

Epi Les Paul Std w/Duncans
ESP LTD EX260
Cry Baby From Hell
Marshall JH-1
EHX Metal Muff
MXR EVH Phase 90