well my guitar sits next to my bed and one day when my girl and I were fooling around my foot hit it and knocked it over and cracked the next in half. I've decided to see if I can find a replacement neck and I thought while I was doing this I'd upgrade my pickups from the stock ones that are in it now. I was thinking about some EMG's becasue I hear they're good for metal and that's what I like to play. So I was wondering which ones should I get? and what's the difference between the EMG 81's and 89's? and also is it difficult to change pickups? I've never done this before but I want to do it myself so I don't have to pay anyone to do it. Since it would probably be beneficial for you guys to know what guitar I plan to do this with I have an Ibanez RG5EX1 So if you guys could help me with any good places to find replacement necks, help with what pickups to get and how to switch them out it would be wonderful. Thanks in advance.
Quote by Jack Off Jill
I think you're the only person on the planet who is worried about how mainstream muffins are.
A new neck and EMG's will cost more than a new decent Ibanez. EMG's use a 9volt battery, you will have to drill a slot for the 9volt. If you've never messed with electronics before, you won't be able to do it.
Quote by breakdown123
Is there such a thing as a heavy riff with out chugging on the e string?
ahh alright thanks but you think I should get a different pickup then? maybe a seymour duncan SH-4? how much do you think a new neck would cost? oh and when I said EMG 89's I acutally meant 85's I just couldn't remember

I really want to do this mostly cause I've never done it before and since I injured myself this year and can't play football I have nothing to do with my time.
Quote by Jack Off Jill
I think you're the only person on the planet who is worried about how mainstream muffins are.
Last edited by Metallica Fan21 at Aug 6, 2008,