Poll: Lessons or Self taught?
Poll Options
View poll results: Lessons or Self taught?
Lessons
69 33%
Self Taught
137 67%
Voters: 206.
Page 1 of 2
I was just wondering how many of you actually had lessons. I once tried to teach my self but it didn't work out because I couldn't really find any good books or anything... So I got lessons. If you are self taught how did you do it?
Quote by Van Halen Man
Van Halen Man Is Awesome

Quote by Steve Martin
I believe that sex is the most beautiful, natural, and wholesome thing that money can buy.
I took lessons for 5 years and I'm a good guitar player but I don't know shit about theory...
Nice beaver.

(. Y .) (. Y .)
Quote by Maidenfan066
I took lessons for 5 years and I'm a good guitar player but I don't know shit about theory...

Yeah that is pretty much how it is for me except I've only had lessons for ~2.5 years..
Quote by Van Halen Man
Van Halen Man Is Awesome

Quote by Steve Martin
I believe that sex is the most beautiful, natural, and wholesome thing that money can buy.
I did lessons, quit, then my guitar player friend taught me most of what i know.

I play bass by the way
I had lessons for a year and a half. They helped a lot, but I quit taking them because the teacher didn't know what else to teach me... he wasn't really into theory O_o
i took about 3 lessons when i 1st started. but apart from that ive been self taught.. what i done was sat and learn al the easy stuff like blink 182 and greenday ect (that was preffered style of music back then anyway).
ive taken lessons for the majority of my time playing guitar, but i recently stopped going because i cant afford it anymore. im gonna go self taught for a while and maybe if i can afford it again i'll go back
I learned for 9 months on my own.
Went to classes for one year. Stopped going.

But my teacher was awful. Basically, he wouldn't teach theory, wouldn't fix bad habits... He would simply teach songs. So I picked self taught since I teach myself all what I know.