Hope this is the right place to put this...

I've been playing guitar for about 5 years now and have a switch pedal on my marshall amp(as far as my use in pedals gets), but as far as effects and other pedals im kind of clueless.

What is a basic set up that most guitarists have? (i realize many don't use pedals and just play straight through and amp)

I figure a Wa, would be step one, but what else. There are so many different pedals, and im sure everyone has its place. A delay would be my second guess.

I would just like to know what your setup is and what a good setup should by comprised of?

any other advice is welcomed brands and anything like that

Thanks in advance for the info

-Jeff
I mean, there really isn't a 'standard' setup.
“In my anguish I cried to the LORD, and he answered by setting me free. The LORD is with me; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”
yeah wahs are fun. id go with that a chorus and if youre amp has good distortion a tube screamer, and if it doesnt a distortion pedal too. maybe a big muff a proco rat or a digitech distortion or something.
just a few suggestions
What are some good brands then?

And i realize there really no standard setup since everyones will be different, but if your just getting into pedals, what are some of the first ones you should look at.
whatever you want, but if i was you distortion, wah, then delay. i got a distortion, then a multi effects. thats my rig.lol
Quote by scguitarking927
What are some good brands then?

And i realize there really no standard setup since everyones will be different, but if your just getting into pedals, what are some of the first ones you should look at.

again boss are a good bet fer multi-fx. bur fer individual pedals. start with yer basic overdrive, distortion, reverb, chorus, delay, wahs....just to name a few :P

and you should probably invest in a noise gate

EDIT: If its not called a noisegate. my apologies