im a newbie guitarist....i can play some relatively basic things...(smoke on the water, pull me under, sign of the cross, breaking the law, carry on wayward son, trust, etc)

but, ive kinda been putting off learning chords...and now i dont think i ca progress any more without learning them....

but, (as im totally self taught) i dont know how i should really start 2 learn them...i dont have a teacher, im really in no position 2 get 1....and im stuck....can u please help me out?

i was thinking id just look up some ac/dc songs, and run through them....but i dont think thats really a good way of doing it

itd also be preferable if it didnt involve buying books or whatever....but, if i HAVE 2, i guess its not 2 bad...

thanks in advance
just look up the chords on the computer or buy one of those 5 dollar posters from walmart and just practice. With Chords its one of those really boring things to learn but once you can switch chords easily your guitar skill is alot better. But start with open chords and then move to barr chords. and try to find a song with open chords to practice switching with.
I just found some songs that were driven by acoustic guitar, looked up the chord chart and tried to play. Its not quick or pretty, but it got the job done. Start by looking up the individual chords in the song and practice each one individually until you have it memorized and produce a clean sound when you play. Then start trying to link the chords. Its as simple as that. Go slow at first and within 2 weeks you will be asking yourself why you ever though it was hard to play chords.
Pretty much what everyone else has said is valid. I especially like the suggestion by esposito123 about acoustic songs since they usually tend to be made up of chords and such. And if I were you, I would also try to learn what notes make up a chord and whatnot while you're in the process of learning.