Hello,

New to the site and new to guitar playing. Need some help/advise. Hope I am posting in proper forum.

Been playing for about 6 months. Lessons coming along very well. I am 35 and my son is 9 years old. We are both in lessons. Please bare with me as I will try to give as much information as possible.

My son plays on a Fender American Strat with a Marshall MG15DFX. Sounds real good for a complete beginner. No issues here. Him taking lessons, I thought I would learn along with him for encouragement and just to learn myself. So...

Part 1 - My guitar was bought new off eBay. Its a custom built SPG Darkside. Licensed Floyd Rose, Duel cheap-o humbuckers, Volume/Tone/3 way switch. Amp is a Crate GTD65 also bought new. Buddy just sold me a Peavey Transtube 212, but besides trying it for a few minutes to make sure it works, it just sits in closet for now.

When guitar arrived in mail, two strings were broken. I take to local guitar shop and have strings replaced and tuned. When I pick up guitar, shop guy was real impressed with guitar but said pickups were REAL cheap and gave off a horrible feedback. Said that some feedback in a guitar was good, but mine was bad. Also, pots were smaller than a dime and were really scratchy, especially the volume. Brought it home and played with it for about a week. As a beginner, even I could tell pickups and pots were cheap as hell.

Part 2 - So I get on eBay and start looking for better pickups. I find a guy selling two Blackout style humbuckers, volume/tone pots, and patch cord plug from a Jackson guitar. (Don't know model) Pickups say Jackson in white. Honest seller said they were roughly a year old and was upgrading to Seymour Duncan. I win auction for 11 bucks. I take everything to shop again and guy said Jackson makes really nice guitars and these pickups/pots would be a 1000% improvement over what I had. He replaced both pickups, pots, and installed new strings again. Didn't replace patch cord plug.