Im seriously considering getting into luthierage (?!?) but im really not sure if im 'cut' out for it. Basically i just have time on my hands and would save money because i play a lot of instruments and i have access to most tools.

Thing is all ive ever made is like a small table at school i have no other woodwork experience. I dont want to start something i cant finish. Would you say i will come across huge problems building guitars or what?!?
every guitar player comes to a point where they want to be a luthier, its because guitar players are lazy and have a dream making a lot of money doing nothing.

no its not easy, you will have **** loads of problems, no you wont make any money.
Quote by LP Addict
every guitar player comes to a point where they want to be a luthier, its because guitar players are lazy and have a dream making a lot of money doing nothing.

no its not easy, you will have **** loads of problems, no you wont make any money.

i dont want to make money i just dont want to pay 4000 USD for a prs custom 24 (prices here are so inflated), and also want to make mandolins, banjos, acoustics, basses eventually for my own use.

So do you luthiers consider it worth it for yourselves?!
Probably. It's not so hard, but unless you have really beefy tools, you're going to tear the crap out of them. I screwed up the motor in my belt sander, and I'm now at a standstill on a customer's order.

Edit:

It's definitely worth it, It's fun, and if you're any good, you can make money off of it.
Quote by CJ Noble
Probably. It's not so hard, but unless you have really beefy tools, you're going to tear the crap out of them. I screwed up the motor in my belt sander, and I'm now at a standstill on a customer's order.

i heard this and i have access to some nice tools and will buy my own. I thought belt sanders were all that was needed. Bit of elbow grease eh>?!>
As posted in another thread, you need:

Bandsaw (very very helpful)
Belt sander
Drillpress
hand drill
router