i dont know wether this is a stupid question and my friend is talking crap, but i'm completely new to bass so i dont know..

is it true that a bass guitar can damage/destroy a normal guitar amp ?

if so....why ?
JP
Yes

Guitar Amps can't handle the low frequencies put out by basses.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
For a bit, but it's best not a risk it.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
Quote by ChemicalFire
Yes

Guitar Amps can't handle the low frequencies put out by basses.

**** i didnt know that
With the same voice coil, at the same volume for a speaker to make a low frequency note it has to physically move much further than for treble frequencies. This causes damage to speakers not designed for bass.
Quote by big-jamie
so what differs a bass amp from a normal amp then ?
The speaker voice coils are designed with a higher excursion in mind.
its made for lower frequencies?
Originally Posted by smb
I'm an arrogant bastard - I thought I was good before I'd plucked a note. I was right, of course.

Quote by MetalBass 77
sonsie knows all
Quote by Necrotic
whoa.. i have a bass and a guitar and i use a bass amp, would that damage my amp?

No, that's fine. Guitars through bass amps sound great, and don't damage the amp - a lot of guitarists use bass amps or cabs for their warm tonal qualities.
In the bass chat:

<Jon> take the quote of me out your sig plx
<Jon> i hate seeing what i said around lol

Leader of the Bass Militia PM to join!

And now on BANDCAMP!

Officially the funniest member of the Bass Forum.
Quote by big-jamie
is yours ok though ? lol

i dnt know lol ... i borrowd it from my mate and gave it back 2 him the other day ... ah well XD