I need an amp for college to play in since I'm majoring in music, and they won't let me use my Mark IV because it's to loud for the jazz/blues band. They said it can be 50 watts or lower, so I need an amp that's 50 or lower. My budget is pretty much anything because I'm getting it for graduation. So, just tell me what you think. I really want a smooth gain type of amp. I really like Guthrie Govan, Mark Sfgoli, Andy Timmons, and that sort of crowd, so I'm looking for a smooth fusion/prog type tone. Thanks.
Fender American Stratocaster
Gibson Les Paul Standard
79 Gibson Les Paul Custom
Suhr Pro Series S5
Ovation Custom Balladeer
Mesa Boogie Mark IV with 4x12 Recto Cab
Looking for Ibanez RGA model or Petrucci PM me for details
Metropoulos/Germino (Marshall) JTM45 should do you a great job for the sounds you're looking for. The best amp available for that smooth blues gain ala "All Your Love" from Beano. Does great clean as well (best of any Marshall), and can rock out hard (does early AC/DC better than anything else).

edit: nevermind, you're looking for a prog type of sound. My bad, I saw blues in there and just had to start talking about the JTM45 lol.
Last edited by al112987 at Aug 8, 2008,
50 watts tube WILL still be too loud, like, only a tad quieter than the mesa (im assuming its 100w)

i'd say 30/40w tube depending on how much headroom you need
Get off this damn forum and play your damn guitar.
As much as I like the Lonestar, I might have found something better...What about a Cornford Carerra? They are 30 watts and I have heard all great things about them. Anybody have any input on them?
Gibson Les Paul Standard
Suhr Pro Series S5
Ovation Custom Balladeer
doesn't the mark IV go down to 25 watts?
My Gear
Guitars:
-Gibson Les Paul Studio
-Ibanez "lawsuit" Les Paul
-Ibanez S470
-PRS SE Custom

Amp:
Marshall TSL100
Marshall 1960a cab

Effects:
Dunlop 535q wah
Visual Sound Liquid Chorus

Pickups:
Guitarforce
MHD
Quote by JLT73
doesn't the mark IV go down to 25 watts?