ive been asked by my school music teacher to begin teaching others to play bass guitar.

i have two kids to teach, and one is allready able to play quite well, and the other has barely touched onto the instrument.

i just wanna ask around what you guys did/were taught when you started playing bass.i never had lessons myslef, i learnt how to play from tabs and whatever. i started bass lessons this year however, and have learnt much theory.

im a proficient bassist, being able to proffciently slap, tap and finger. if you wanna know how i can play, the fastest finger song i can play is "YYZ" by rush, and the best slap song is "mr. pink (live)" by level 42

so yeh, just asking for general ideas as what to start teaching to beginners/intermediates

EDIT: THIS IS NOT A THREAD FOR YOU TO TELL ME YOU PREFER GUITAR TO BASS, PLEASE PUT IN A VALUABLE INPUT

ps. im fine with theory EXCEPT reading music. sorry :P
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EDIT
ok, so i did the first lesson, but only the beginner kid cos' the intermediate guy was sick. the beginner kids actually wasnt to beginner, knowing how to pick correctly and could fret OK.

i took him through c major, playing it in thirds up and down. then i went onto g major and played around with that, using extensions and what not.

ill probably teach him a song next lesson, and maybe for the lesson after, but then i need to figure out what to next.

any suggestions?
Last edited by flea_is_my_god at Aug 12, 2008,
what about to the intermediate kid?

i wanna keep him interested in my lessons, so i wanna give him somethign to enjoy after a lesson, rather than just teaching him the boring parts and not wanting to practice it
OH MUY GAWD! WOT A TERIBLE UseRNaMe?!

if i were you, first i would clarify with the student's what direction that want to take with their playing (ie particular styles or techniques) and teach them what they WANT to be taught.