I'm trying to learn this song all the way through but I'm having a problem. What fingers (on plucking hand) should I use to pick this part?

|-----------------|-----------------|
|-------0-----0-1-|-----1-----3-----|
|-----2-----0-----|---2-----0-----0-|
|---2-------------|-----------------|
|-0---------------|-0-----2-----2---|
|---------3-------|-----------------|
I'm a beginner...but I thought most times you'd alternate your thumb for the lower two strings. That would leave the other 3 in place on the higher strings.
Thumb is supposed to be for the bottom 3 strings: E A D
For that part you only need your thumb, index, and middle
I would recommend starting on a different piece if this is your first, i will find link.
Depends on how you play the song, I used to do it differently but now I play it (I think, I don't have my guitar with me at the moment):
0-thumb
2-index
2-middle
0-ring
3-thumb
0-index
0-middle
1-index
0-thumb
2-index
1-middle
2-thumb
0-index
3-middle
2-thumb
0-index

EDIT: In regards to the thumb being for the bottom 3, that's the best way to go about it, and it's also the way I used to play that song but I find I get better tone play the parts that sit between the 2nd and 5th strings when I play it that way. But in terms of learning the best guideline is EAD is thumb, G is index, B is middle, e is ring.
Last edited by mattvl at Aug 9, 2008,
Quote by cfhwarhead
Thumb is supposed to be for the bottom 3 strings: E A D
For that part you only need your thumb, index, and middle
I would recommend starting on a different piece if this is your first, i will find link.

no, definitely not my first. I'm just having a problem mainly with the first measure. Would it be better to pick your thumb twice, because it's the A and D strings? Or thumb and then index, middle, ring, like the other person said.
Quote by mick13