Hey guys,
I'm a fairly experienced bassist, but not a very experienced soloist. I have been told "For this song, we're giving you a solo of 3 chorus's" (in jazz lingo of course) so I've been experimenting with it. The song is Comin' Home Baby, and my chorus consists of:

||:E min|%|%|%|A Min|%|E min|%|G7|F#7 F7|E min|%:|| X3

% Meaning repeating last chord, and :| denotating repeats

So I was thinking about what scales I should screw around with... I'm thinking B Phrygian would work fairly well? or maybe D mixo, but I was wondering what some people more experienced in soloing would use to approach the solo.
Thanks
1st ever MOD challenge winner
Rush Club Member #5
Member of the Frank Zappa Fan Club. PM deadhead313313 to join
Member #4 of The Geddy Lee Fan Club
Member #21 of the Steve Irwin Memorial Club, pm Clincher09 to join
Do you know what key the song is in?
Quote by guitarhero_764
I think you need to stop caring what people think about it. I stayed home all day today and masturbated like 5 times. Fucking blast.

Ibanez ATK300 ◈ Sansamp VT Bass ◈ EHX Nano Small Stone ◈ Hartke LH500 ◈ Ashdown/Celestion 115
E minor (1 Sharp)
Rush Club Member #5
I would definately do something in the key of E minor for it.

Such as: E F# G A B C D

And then I would probably throw in an F on the F7 right before it goes back to E minor.
Uh, the reason I picked those scales is because E minor is the relative minor to G Major, and share all of the same notes, so B Phrygian and D Mixo would share all of those notes as well.
I don't want to hit roots in this solo, because as a bass player, that's what I do every other time, and I'm not doing that in a solo. It'd be much, much too boring that way.

Edit: I was also considering using some triad couplings using either ascending or descending arpeggios, I'm just not sure which key I'd pick it in... D altered may work
Rush Club Member #5
Last edited by TomD03 at Aug 10, 2008,
Quote by TomD03