So... I just cut down five trees in my back yard. What does this have to do with electric guitar, you ask?

Well, I cut down two huge maples, an oak, a birch, and a cedar. I'm an artist. So... i'm looking at the trunks of the trees, before I split them, and I start thinking... I can carve some guitars out of these. The trunk widths of the maples are at least four feet circles...

I'm really good at sculpture (went to college and all that, for art, etc...)... This seems like it would be really easy and i've already drawn up some pix of some prototypes. They look really cool.

Has anyone done this? Is the maple the best or just for the neck? What would be (is) the best wood for the neck and *cough* other part? It seems like such a cool and easy project, especially considering you can just use a chain saw to carve off perfect size pieces then chisels. Can a profit be made off of this, I have a huge amount of wood? Anyone with experience out there in UG who might know?

Thanks!! (In advance.)
greenpeace are gonna kill you ....
My Gear

Epiphone Les Paul Special II
ESP KH-202 with OFR
Hobner Acoustic
BOSS OS-2 Overdrive/Distortion pedal
Dunlop GCB95 Crybaby Wah Pedal
Laney P20 20-Watt 1x8 Amplifier
Lol. Guitar bodies can sell for a bit depending on what they're made out of and if they're good quality. Just depends where you sell them.
My Gear
Guitars
Cort VX-2V
Basses
Stagg BC300
Amps
Marshall JCM900 4100 DR
Marshall 1965A
Hartke HA3500 Combo
How do your neighbors feel?
Quote by ElMaco
My last pay check was £0 working 0 hours. I can't believe how easy it was
I got yer wood right here!

yeah I think this goes in the modding and customizing forum
Maple is a good wood for bodies. Solid, with a bright tone. A little heavy. Lynch used maple in alot of his bodies and toned the bright down with the Screamin' Demon pickups.