Greetings...I'm a new member of this forum and very glad to have found it. I've picked up some great advice already.

Here's my story: I want to buy a hollow or semi-hollow body such as the Ibanez Artcore series but no amp. I'm a recording engineer with a decent home studio so my plan is to run the guitar through a DI into my mixer. I have a Lexicon effects unit in my rack if I want to play around with verb, etc. I don't want an amp because, as a beginner, I have no intention of playing/practicing anywhere but in my studio until I have developed some proficiency! I've always liked the sound of players like Wes Montgomery, George Benson, Jim Hall and others in that vein.

Questions:
1. Can anyone recommend a good DI? My recording experience is mostly of classical music so I don't see a lot of direct boxes. Of the few I have seen, the Whirlwinds seem to be pretty good. I use a lot of Whirlwind cables and splitters and they just work with no problems.

2. Any thoughts on the Ibanez Artcore series? I've read a lot of good things about them and the price is right!

3. What about strings? Is there a particular kind of string jazz players prefer over the stock strings?

4. I've read a lot about setting up a new guitar. How important is this for a beginner and how much should I expect to pay a guitar shop to do it?
There's gonna be one problem, you are running it direct into the DI without running it through an amp which means that it won't sound as good as it could as amps are about 70-80% of the tone.
Guitars:
1994 Epiphone Explorer
1997 Epiphone Les Paul
Tech side:
Blackheart BH5H Little Giant
Rat DeuceTone
EH Knockout
G Lab Wowhee Wah
to answer your string question, i believe they ofter use a flat wound, if im correct its because they make far less string noise for smoother playing. not pos but im pretty sure.