Hi guys, ill try to keep it short.
Ive been playing guitar for like 18 months or something now, on a lowbudget stratcopy.
Anyway i feel its time to buy a real one.
Ive been looking on the standard strat MIM one, which is within my pricerange and seems legit. Im after a guitar with similar feel to the one i got since ive tried gibsons and such and didnt really felt like home.

ANyway i got a couple of questions.
How do i know what neckradius i got on my current guitar?
I like the look of a maple neck, but is there any different soundwise (compared to rosewood).
I would like to be able to get a sound similar to both srv-sound, but also clean warm tones like mark knopfler. Possible?

ANyone have any experience of the MIM strats? Do you recomend buying another guitar (still strat..) if not the standard? Light ash? Highway 1?

Thanks in advance!
yay! I have a purpose to help someone now!!! I own a Fender MIM Strat! umm... pretty much It's the most versatile guitar I've played out of many... you can pretty much get whatever sound you want with it. I say get it. its definately worth the money and more
The MIM is a fantastic guitar for the price.

The maple neck, to me, sounds a little brighter, but the sound difference is really minimal. It all boils down to what feels better (and in some instances, the look). Any Strat should be able to nail SRV and Knopfler's tone, providing your amp's an okay model.

If you have a higher budget, I would recommend a Classic Player's Strat. But then, if your budget is higher, then split it evenly on a guitar and amp.
Quote by andreasthn
Hi guys, ill try to keep it short.
Ive been playing guitar for like 18 months or something now, on a lowbudget stratcopy.
Anyway i feel its time to buy a real one.
Ive been looking on the standard strat MIM one, which is within my pricerange and seems legit. Im after a guitar with similar feel to the one i got since ive tried gibsons and such and didnt really felt like home.