I know this is probably not the best place to post this but I dont know where else I should post it. I know some people on UG play piano so I maybe you guys can help me.

I've had an electric piano in my attic for seven years now but I have only recently had the urge to play it. What is the best way to go about learning to play the piano? I know the answer is probably lessons but I cant afford them and guitar lessons. Are there any books and websites that are good for complete beginners? I really only want to play jazz chord progressions and read music so that I can play guitar over the progressions.

Thanks for any help

Flow of soul
You can approach it like guitar: start hacking away at chords; run them in quick succession, build your handspeed.

Sure, you won't be Liszt; but you could probably jam along with some jazz.
I just recently bought a piano and started learning. I just learned basic music theory and applied it to piano. Stuff like 1 3 5 makes a major scale, and then adding the 7th for a major 7th chord. Building the different modes off of the major scale. Just learn your guitar theory, and think about how it would apply to the piano.
frog_friend and WGP: UG's Kramer brotherhood

Ug's 4th ENGL endorser
Randy Rhoads is god
founder of the "ENGL amps" fanclub. PM me to join
Quote by Flow of soul
I know this is probably not the best place to post this but I dont know where else I should post it. I know some people on UG play piano so I maybe you guys can help me.

I've had an electric piano in my attic for seven years now but I have only recently had the urge to play it. What is the best way to go about learning to play the piano? I know the answer is probably lessons but I cant afford them and guitar lessons. Are there any books and websites that are good for complete beginners? I really only want to play jazz chord progressions and read music so that I can play guitar over the progressions.

Thanks for any help

Flow of soul