i need to buy a new set of strings and i have no knowledge about strings what so ever. how do i know what i should get? also, i only broke the high e string. does that mean i should get a whole new set or just the high e string? i have no idea what kind my strings are.

for those who are too lazy to read my last post:

sorry for the late response. i had to go last night.

i've been playing for a year and a half and i just never got around to picking out which string i prefer. my dad always did it for me and i never minded.

which strings will be the most durable for really big bends on the upper strings? that seems to be how i keep breaking them. also, i have a floyd rose. if i tighten it too tight, does that help break the strings?

another quick question: if i leave the strings in their package for an extended period of time (a few months), will that make them go bad? or is it them being bent and played a lot that makes them go bad (sorry if its a dumb question =\)
Last edited by madshatter at Aug 12, 2008,
Haha yeah get a whole new set.

It depends on what you are playing and what tuning you are in...

I recommend some kind of 10's if you are going to say around the E or D standard.
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Peavey 5150
Vader Cabinet 4x12
Roland Cube 30X
Line 6 Toneport UX1
Morley Bad Horsie II

Get .10s or .11s. For you, you might look into Ernie Ball strings.

Does your title mean that it breaks consistently, or just the one time?
take your guitar in if your so unsure. usually they have an experienced person who will be able to point you in the right direction.... usually being the key word
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
i love me some bunnys

--> --> --> -->

Anybody up for a WookieCore Band? You let me know.

Watch me as i Rock on...
Buy DR strings. best i ever used, they last longer than any other and sound better too.