Ok, so I'm looking into buying a Mesa Roadster head, and on the site it says that all Mesa amps have a "Fixed Bias for Consistent, Maintenance Free Performance." Can somebody elaborate on this a bit more please? I'm fairly new to tube amps, but I do know how to change preamp tubes. With this fixed bias, does that mean that I can change the 6L6's in it just like I would the 12AX7's? Also, are the 5U4G rectifier tubes changed the same as the 12AX7's, too?

Thanks
usually when you change tubes (mainly power tubes i believe) you have to "bias" the amp to adjust it to fit the new tubes. apparently all tubes are somewhat different and biasing allows for the adjustment of the amps so you can get the best sound and longest life out of your tubes.

with mesa amps, they don't allow for any biasing of any sort, so basically you can swap tubes over and over again without biasing once and your amp will be ok. some people argue that your not getting the most of your tubes with a "fixed bias" but other argue that the ability to choose and hear a wide variety of tubes without the hassle of bringing your amp to the store for biasing or ever doing it yourself if you know how is great.

as for changing tubes, all you do is pull the old ones out and stick the new ones in, there's nothing complicated about it

the 6L6's are your power tubes, your 12AX7's are the pre-amps tubes, and the 5U4G are the rectifier tubes, each are in their own category and are NOT interchangeable. however, if you buy a new set of 6L6 tubes for instance, you can take the old 6L6's out, put the new ones in and play with them right away.

there's a "tube thread" stickied at the top and they know a hell of a lot more than i do. try there if you have any more questions.
Quote by Scutchington
I like this guy, he's UG's Greek, and he just told your ass in two paragraphs. And I once spent 5 minutes watching his avatar.

A Brain Malfunction

We'll Never Admit As Defeat
Quote by Waterboy799