Hey everyone.
I've been playing for about 4 years and I'm pretty decent as far as ability, I like to play a wide range of rock styles, everything from Iron maiden to coldplay and everything in between. I play in a metal band and have been using this Ibanez that I would rather not use for the band stuff anymore. I also do a lot of home recording that tends to be more melodic and obscure, and I love expirimenting with effects. I want to use my beginner guitar, an old Les Paul 100, pretty much the cheapest thing you can get from Epiphone. That being said, it is not a bad sounding guitar at all. My dilemma is:
- would it be worth it to invest some money into the Epi, or buy a new guitar. (keep in mind im left handed so guitars tend to cost more for me.)

I would rather work on it as it has some sentimental value to me, but I'm not against doing some major surgery on it. I want to replace the pickups ( 2 humbuckers) but I'm at a loss as far as what to get. I need versatility to be key. Id rather stick with passive ones for the simplicity also. Ive shopped around but I am lost. I want something with a lot of mid to low range, ballsy sound for the bridge and something for the neck from which I can get a distinct, sharp for wailing solo's that wont get lost in the mix, yet also something that sounds decent on clean as I do not strictly play metal. Also, can I mix brands for the two? How do I know what will match? Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated and thanks for your time!

My gear is a randall half stack, and a variety of effects pedals- metal zone, flanger, phaser, chorus, delay, and wah.
For the bridge you might want to look at a DiMarzio Super Distortion, and for the neck I think you'd be interested in a Seymour Duncan Pearly Gates or maybe a Duncan Jazz.

The Super Distortion provides ultra high gain, but also glassy cleans. The Pearly Gates/Jazz are also great for cleans and not so high on the gain side, providing a smoother distortion.