I've been playing for around 2 years.Iv'e learned quite a handful of scales from Major and minor Pentantonic,Major and Minor Scales,Blues Scale,Egyptian Scale.But I don't get how you can start soloing and making your own melody with the scales?Besides have to use the same key with the chord porgressions.Since i've tried writting/improvising before with some chord progressions and they sounded bad.Any advice?
~Vince~
Fender MIM Telecaster ('06) [Modded]
PRS S2 Custom 24 ('13) [Modded]
Squier Affinity Fat Strat [Modded]
Yamaha F310

Mesa/Boogie Lonestar 1x12 Combo
Mesa/Boogie Mark V:25

SD Vapor Trail
Xotic SL Drive
Xotic BB Preamp
Boss BD-2
Boss DS-1 [MonteAllums]
MXR 10-Band EQ
If you play only the notes, it always will sound like crap. You have to to vibrato, bendings, slides and stuff like that. Try, and you will see I'm right ^^
Weeey, I haven't had a chance to write an essay on ths in a while!

OK, to improvise over chords, you need two things; a solid knowledge of scales and the ability to find out what key a piece is in (or knowledge of what key it's in).

So say you have a progression in A minor. The most logical scale to use is, quite obviously, the A minor scale. Now that you know that, you can apply some rules and use other scales that are directly related to the A minor scale.

A minor's relations:

A minor scale ALWAYS has a relative major . This is a scale that shares the same notes as the minor, played in a different order with a different root note to make it sound major. It's root note is ALWAYS 3 semitones (3 frets) up from the minor's root note. So A minor's relative major would be:

A+ 1 Semitone = Bb
Bb +1 Semitone = B
B +1 Semitone = C

C major.

So now you can use A minor and C major over your progression!