I've been playing for about 2 years and 3 months (I took like a 2 month break this wrestling season, so I've had my guitar for around 2 years 5 months) and I figured something out. I still suck. I can't solo, I'm not good at improvising, I barely know music theory. I can't get guitar lessons because money's tight right now with the gas so high. When I try to solo, it just comes out sloppy, and my fingers can't move fast enough. It feels like my fretting hand can't keep up with my picking hand, and even so, I can't pick very well either, it just sounds bad.

I really want to get better and I don't know how to. Like I said, lessons aren't an option right now, and since I've been playing for almost 2 and a half years, and can't even play one song through, I need to either get better soon, or get rid of the guitar, because I'm at my wits end.

I know I'm clearly going to get "Practice" as a response, but I have no clue what to practice. Help would be appreciated.
Quote by evening_crow
Holy crap!!! a talking penis!!!

Quote by Rush Fan 06
i wasnt 3, but i ate **** when i was 4 thinking it was chocolate

if someone sigs this i will murder them.
Something called ''exercise book'', myself I ditched the metronome part and I did it my way, your call.

That or starters songs that are boring to play because you can't even nail them properly at the start, but sounds good after a lil' while, like livin' after midnight with the tiny winy lead part or stuff like that.
I love music, if music would be a girl then I'd date her, until then let's get back on Earth
What motivates you?

And be honest. Like my motivation for learning a few songs on an acoustic guitar is to grab the chicks. So when I practice, I imagine myself playing for the chicks.

Now my motivation for bass is just that I love music, but besides the point.
Quote by kgesme21

Quote by Hsupernova

Oh yeah, and if guitar hero got you into the guitar? you're really playing for the wrong reasons.