I've been playing for a little under 4 years, 2 years serious. I'm pretty content at the level I'm at, learning songs are a breeze but when it comes to anything fast that involves a scale it just all falls downhill.

I'm 100% self taught from tabs, I have no knowledge of theory and whenever I improvise I just roughly know which notes will sound good next to each other.

I can honestly say that riffing is the best part of my playing, I can play most any Lamb of God song flawlessly. I also love playing Bodom, but when it comes to the fast licks they play, or the solos I just cant do it. It takes me a good 30-45 minutes just to learn a single solo and then I can't even play it properly.

Now I know one problem is my alternate picking when trying to shred, I pretty much just tremolo at whatever speed and play the notes. I know this is wrong and I'm trying to fix this.

Should I be going to a guitar teacher to learn theory at this point in my guitar playing? Or are there tricks to shredding and such that I just don't know about?
knowing theory is great. but it is not really for everyone.

I know very little of theory, but I know what sounds good.

I find when people focus on theory too much, they become guitar zombies, basically losing a lot of their natural creativity because they think too much about what they are playing.
My Gear
Guitars:
-Gibson Les Paul Studio
-Ibanez "lawsuit" Les Paul
-Ibanez S470
-PRS SE Custom

Amp:
Marshall TSL100
Marshall 1960a cab

Effects:
Dunlop 535q wah
Visual Sound Liquid Chorus

Pickups:
Guitarforce
MHD
30-45 minutes? try practicing at an easy speed for 21 days, i think its possible that you are being completely ridiculous in your expectations
BE HAPPY

Quote by ajmasterjaydude
so this kid at my school microwaved brussel sprouts for lunch, and when he was about to eat them one of them exploded on his face and burned him. i like turtles

in a thread about malmsteen^