hi guys,

this is my first post here and i hope i learn something ..
maybe an introduction...
i have been playing classical guitar for 6 years now but i never was that bothered to learn anything since this year ... so my playing is average ... it was funny but i kept on improving but i stayed in that one spot and i cant go on ... and still i am in that spot ... NO SURPRISE THERE :P i want to start playing the electric guitar (well i can play but cant write my own stuff) ... yesterday in a few hours a learnt the pentatonic minor scale and the first 12 notes on the low E string .
i dont know any electric guitar techniques:P maybe a few links ??
any advice on how to solo ... i been on the lessons on the site and read a few posts on it and ... is happening thats why i am asking for techniques for hammer ons, pull offs and pickingwith a plectrum

cheers
Welcome aboard UG dude. And hope your stay here is a good one. I don't normally venture into these forums, but I saw your post and thought I can help you out.

Firstly, how's your rhythm? I ask this because most guitarists practise scales and left hand exercises over and over (not that it's a bad thing) but you have to get your rhythm tight before moving on to anything else. It's better to have a good rhythm THEN learn to solo rather than the other way around.

You say you've learned classical for the past few years, then I presume you know how to sight read and know your basic theory? If you do then your already better than many beginner and intermediate guitarists out there.

Like I said, get your rhtythm tight. Listen to bands you like, follow their rhythm. Play along with the song. Practise slowly, and then let it develop to full speed. But you probobly already know that.