Hi

Im a newb to this all recording shibang and what-not but...

What software (I already use Audacity) and what equipment I should use. Are the any good gadgets out there? Is there anything I could plug a bass lead in for dirt cheap that will work with vista?

Thanks for looking!
If you want quality I would say buy a Line 6 toneport

http://www.zzounds.com/item--LINTPUX1

If you want to pay what you'd pay for a bag of dirt I'd say buy yourself a cable and proper audio connection to plug your bass into your computer's mic jack and record that way. That's how I did it when I was first starting out.

You don't need the most expensive gear to make a good recording but you do need to spend a little but of money for anything decent.
Hey, i recently purchased a mic off of Ebay, it's trully amazing... i must say, you can record vox and acoustic instruments, plus theres a plug in for your electric guitar so you could play that and record through there.
Samson G track...there's also a no delay in hearing what ur singin/playing through the mic as there's a head phone jack directly on the mic.
I'll try and give you more feedback when I know myself around the mic and test it out properly.
Hope this helped, oh yeah, it costs approximatly 100pounds/i assume around 200 dollars?
Quote by Javie18
If you want quality I would say buy a Line 6 toneport

http://www.zzounds.com/item--LINTPUX1

If you want to pay what you'd pay for a bag of dirt I'd say buy yourself a cable and proper audio connection to plug your bass into your computer's mic jack and record that way. That's how I did it when I was first starting out.

You don't need the most expensive gear to make a good recording but you do need to spend a little but of money for anything decent.

The TonePort UX1 Pro is EXACTLY what I need and dirty cheap aswell! Sinse Im a UK resident I am getting it for £60.00!! Thanks alot this has really helped ALOT!