Big surprise, but I'm new to the guitar. I'm a self taught bassist, and want something that is more pretty or smooth sounding by itself that I can carry around. I love what can be done on acoustic guitars, and figured I'd give it a go.

Now, I'm a medium sized guy, but I still don't want a HUGE sized guitar that I have to contort over just to play... so that left me looking at Ovation guitars. I can get a decently priced, smaller, good sounding (in my virgin guitarist ears) acoustic. But I'm wondering if it's a mistake, because I've played barely anything on Ovations, and almost nothing else. Only Breedlove's, and I believe that I don't deserve one of those.

So really I'm open to any suggestions, I'd prefer roundback? acoustics, but I'll take anything that's 200-400ish and sounds good.

Links to youtube videos would be cool too, or just a link.

These are the only two I have in mind atm.
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Ovation-Celebrity-CDX24-Acoustic-Electric-Guitar-516159-i1398591.gc
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Ovation-Celebrity-CC24-Acoustic-Electric-Guitar-513279-i1148074.gc

So any thoughts, comments, suggestions would be much appreciated!

Thanx
Epi Gothic Thunderbird
Squier P-Bass w/new pups
Ibanez RG7321
Washburn Acoustic Guitar
SWR LA 12

POD X3 Live $300/500.
i love my cort, one of best acoustics i've played at that price.

look on my profile for the model number.

was $750....heckled the guy own to 500

cant help u with those specific choices tho...never played that brand. looks nice!
i myself prefer the natural finish tho
sacrificial beaver of the laney cult

~Gear~

Schecter C-7 Hellraiser
ESP LTD F-2005
Laney VH100R *with free cab*
Roland Cube 60
Cort Acoustic
If you want travel size and good sound, look at the Martin Backpacker. Its very small, about as small as an acoustic can be. And it still sounds good. Ovations are ok, but sound rather poor when unplugged. Look at an Ibanez Talman series acoustic. Very thin body, and a very thin neck.