I was never taught any theory, not even scales and the likes (my first song was stairway to heaven. Suffice to say my teacher ddnt last long b4 I decided to learn the guitar myself) but I think I have an acceptable knowledge of guitar music theory at current. I've been playing for what, 7 months or so? and I now really want to push on with my playing. I'm grateful to all the online sources for music theory, especially here on UG, but I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations as to any books that could teach me full, deatiled guitar theory, just as a sorta physical reference to push on my playing. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
Quote by tubetime86

Nothing compliments a Gibson Les Paul Custom quite like a Fender Frontman 15R

http://www.berkleemusic.com/store/product?product%5fid=11250&usca%5fp=t

There you go. I used that one and it includes a lot of stuff I learned in classes and through private lessons at Berklee. No book will be an "end all" book, but that one is pretty inclusive and a great place to really get into it.

An important thing to keep in mind, though, is that a book like this is geared towards the guitar player and not necessarily a general music student looking to learn broad theory. It all relates, but the approach to studying theory as a standalone is a little different than learning it as it strictly relates to guitar.
dummies book of music theory its amazing
Ibanez RG350DX
Line 6 Spider III
Cubase SX3
Quote by PSM
http://www.berkleemusic.com/store/product?product%5fid=11250&usca%5fp=t

There you go. I used that one and it includes a lot of stuff I learned in classes and through private lessons at Berklee. No book will be an "end all" book, but that one is pretty inclusive and a great place to really get into it.