im tyring to compose something in A harmonic minor

right now the chord prgressiong is going ii-i-vii. im using the 1-3-5 of each chord to come up with an arp line. its coming along, but i want to try something else after it.

i want to substitute the chrod progession out and possibly come up with something major sounding.

so it would be III (with a #5) then i dont know. can anyone help?
My Gear:
JacksonStars KE TN-02
Jackson DK2M
Jackson WRXT
Jackson KSXT
Jackson DXMG
Jackson 7 String soloist

Ovation Celeberity
ehh im new to composing so i guess my termonology is off :roll eyes:

im trying to avoid C major because i use it so often. im trying to challenge myself and use keys/scales/chrods/arps that i wouldnt normally use.

its getting very aggrovating and it seems everytime I study my theory i get worse.
My Gear:
JacksonStars KE TN-02
Jackson DK2M
Jackson WRXT
Jackson KSXT
Jackson DXMG
Jackson 7 String soloist

Ovation Celeberity
Quote by gonzaw
Hmm, you don't write something in harmonic minor, since it is a scale, not a key...

Major sounding? maybe change to C major

actually, it is. harmonic minor has it's own set of chords derived from it, hence it's a key.

to answer the question, a harmonic minor (a b c d e f g#), comprises of a minor, b diminished, c augmented, d minor, e major f major and g# diminished.

therefore, if you were looking for a major flavour, you would begin/resolve a section on e major.
Well in A minor, your relative major is C, so if you want to follow ternary form, you really don't have much of a choice if you want to follow a typical style. However it's common to use other keys as well. Try modulation, if you don't know what that is, look up the lesson on it here, it's on the front page I believe.