Are there any books I should start out with? Should I just learn to read tab and just go from there? Should I get a certain chord book? Basicly where should I start? I've just been learning stuff off youtube for a couple months.
get proficient at playing powerchords quickly, then open chord changes, then barre chords, all the while working the major, pentatonic, and pentatonic blues scale.
I just read tabs I started out with easy songs and eventually as you learn different songs you get different skills down. Hammer-ons, Pull-off's, Trills, Bends, Vibratos, it will all come with learning different tabs.
Gear:
1980 Gibson SG Standard Cherry Red
Ibanez TM-71 Talman Artcore Semi-Hollow
2003 Tom Delonge Fender Strat Seafoam Green
Traynor YCV40
above comments are good advice.
sacrificial beaver of the laney cult

~Gear~

Schecter C-7 Hellraiser
ESP LTD F-2005
Laney VH100R *with free cab*
Roland Cube 60
Cort Acoustic
If I told you, you wouldnt be self taught, would you?
Staff Sergeant of The Megadeth Military
PM BlackicN to join

Archbishop of Zeppelinism
PM heartbreaker

Gear
Guitars
ESP LTD MH1000
Fender 50th Anniversary Strat
81 Gibson SG
Parker PM20
Amps
Fender Hotrod Deluxe
Roland Cube 60x
Pick your favorite songs and try to learn them. You'll be amazed at what you can accomplish on your own as long as you don't give up.
Quote by guitargod21136

lol.... smart ass

Now to answer the askers question...i think its better to learn how to actually read music notes then just tabs.. the books i would recommend are alfred's or mel bay's guitar book 1 , but since you want to be self taught i'd say go with alfred's since its more explained and also a little easier.
Quote by Themann810
whenever im about to bang a chick she turns into a guy WTF why does this happen
Last edited by ampzz525 at Aug 15, 2008,