Okay so I've been playing for around 2 months and been using alternate picking on every stroke (almost), but the other day my guitar teacher told me that when im playing crotchets (the note that counts for one beat) I should only use down strokes. I was confused by this because he also said the reason for this is that itll stuff up my picking later in life.

Should i heed his advice?
No, he's an idiot.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
He's an idiot...

About the only time when you don't want to use alt picking is when you're doing arpeggios or something like that... in which case you'll be better off using economy/sweep picking.
Originally Posted by evening_crow
Quoting yourself is cool.

WARNING: I kill threads.
Well... Depends down you look at it.

You could go:

V V V V
1 2 3 4

Then as you get into smaller notations

V ^ V ^ V ^ V
1 + 2 + 3 + 4

And keep going like that.

But the reason he's given makes him a ****ing retard xD
I know you should start the first beat with a down stroke, so maybe he was talking about playing in 3/4 time?
You can't use down strokes on crotchets in every song... depends on the tempo. That's a weird advice.
Did he talk about a song you should play like that?
Your teacher doesn't use alternate picking? James Hetfield mainly uses down strokes because he didn't know alternate picking so it's still possible to play like that but... it makes it a lot harder.
Quote by Chikao42
Well... Depends down you look at it.

You could go:

V V V V
1 2 3 4

Then as you get into smaller notations

V ^ V ^ V ^ V
1 + 2 + 3 + 4

And keep going like that.

But the reason he's given makes him a ****ing retard xD

Yeah i also thought about that, but it depends a lot on the tempo as well...
Originally Posted by evening_crow
Quoting yourself is cool.